top of page

The Untamed

Lexyy Jeanette

Designer

Dallas, TX

LexyyJeanette is the owner and designer of her clothing line called THEUNTAMED. She started her business the day she graduated from high school in 2013. Lexyy started out selling handmade and reconstructed items, unisex bandana tees, which was okay for a while but she knew that it wasn't exactly what she wanted to do. It wasn't true to what she wanted her brand to represent. So she took a break to gather herself and her thoughts/ideas. Lexyy Jeanette designed every week, made tons of prototypes, did her research, and finally created a collection. Her Spring/Summer '15 Collection was inspired by Kanye West 2010 VMAs 'Runaway' performance. Each color representing its own meaning: Red stands for Power, White for Presence, Black for Mystery, Edge, and Independence.

She draws inspiration everywhere, from Instagram to Tumblr to everyday life. Lexyy states, “I believe that I've designed some of my best work from taking a long ride out in downtown Dallas. I am also an artist, which is where I believe my creativity and abstract thinking comes from. I like to view my collections as a work of art, each design tells a piece of the story.”

Lexyy says that fashion has always been a part of her ever since she was a little girl and she honestly loves what she does so much that she wouldn’t even call it a job. She'd always dress in the best clothes which later transitioned into her grade school years; she went to two different schools where uniform was required and somehow she would dedicate herself to expressing her own sense of style through accessorizing in any way she could. Whether she had on 99¢ floral earrings and a head scarf to match; she made it happen! Lexyy Jeanette recalls, “I remember I watched so many fashion shows back then that I naturally developed a "model walk" and even had classmates nickname me "Miss Model". I was always pressured into being a model but little did people know I wanted to be the designer dressing the model.”

In the beginning she had nothing; she didn't have any special gadgets just a few apps that she used on her phone. (She literally does everything from her phone from designing her website to creating logos, mini photo shoots, everything!) Social networking has played a big role in developing her business. She’s connected with so many people like promoters, photographers, models, and other small business owners like herself. Instagram in being her main resource. She says most definitely wouldn't be where she is today without it. Her dream is to open up my own store in Los Angeles, New York, and Dallas. One day she hope to showcase my work in New York Fashion Week.

Her designs are created to embrace the untamed being in every woman. She wants every women that wears THEUNTAMED to feel fearless, confident, and authentic. The way every woman should.

So I received an email from Lexyy saying she saw my post on Anayal8ter (Naya Vista) and I looked her up on Instagram (I’m telling y’all Instagram is a gold mine. IG is the plug *plug emoji*). Well anyways after looking at her IG and then her online store, I decided she deserved a post. Her pieces are all sexy and sophisticated. Pretty much the embodiment of how every woman should feel. Clothes should enhance how a woman feels about herself and just uplifting. I want to see her do a #BlackOut/#BlackExcellence photo shoot like a solange all white wedding picture vibe to tie into what her clothes represent. Her pieces are just too smooth. I love how the color matches the design and it’s crazy to me that she draws fashion inspiration from Kanye because I do too. I love his Chicagoan mentality (I’m Chicagoan too just based in Dallas now) and his personality shows through his clothes too. I really like when designers put out clothing that means something to them and not what they think will sell. Far too often you see t-shirts with popular pictures on them just because they’re a trend on twitter. I really hate it. Like the Nicki Minaj anaconda t-shirts, like yes it’s cute and yes Nicki’s bomb but really dude? People really use celebrities faces for quick cash they don’t even try to put their own twist on it. But anyways her line is like a breath of fresh air and I try to make sure I feature people with originality and creativity and not just people who see it as quick cash. I love her passion for her craft because that alone can get you really far. I really want to work closely with her and see what she does for F/W release (if she is releasing one, I haven’t gotten word on that yet). Who knows maybe you’ll see me modeling her next release. Ladies please go check out her line:

Instagram: @lexyyjeanette

Store: http://theuntamed.storenvy.com


Iciest of the Week
Recent 

Twitter: @ProfashionalTay

Instagram: @Profashional_Tay

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page